Tour Guide Hiring & Car Rental Service in China
Location:Lijiang, Yunnan
Tags:

Yuhu Village

Yuhu Village is the last village in the Lijiang Basin at the foot of Jade Dragon Snow Mountain.

The houses were made of a unique stone called “monkey head” by Naxi people. The stone is something between stone and mud. With the reflction of the stone on the snow mountain, houses made of :monkey head” look even more natural and beautiful.

There is a Yuhe Lake beside the village. Water in this lake comes from he melted snow in the mountains. The holy water from this holy mountain of the Naxi makes this small village very mysterious.

That is why Joseph Rock chose this place to live in when he came in 1922. He lived in Lijiang for 27 years. We can still find houses and things that he used when he lived in Yuhe Village.

From 1924, a great number of photos and articles that he had taken and written about Lijiang were published in National Geography, an authorative magazine in the U.S. He took Lijiang as center and center, and continuously introduced the wonderful scenery of west Yunnan to the western countries.

Rock loved Lijiang very much. He wrote to his friends before his dying 1962 that he’d rather die in the flowers of Jade Dragon Snow Mountain in Lijiang than lie alive on the sickbed in Hawaii.

You may also like:

Qin Shi Huang Mausoleum The Qin Terracotta Warriors and Horses are world famous, attracting a large number of tourists from home and abroad to visit each year. However, they are only a part of the yet unexcavated mausoleum of Emperor Qin Shi Huang located to its west. Inside this huge mausol...
Beijing Courtyard Beijing Courtyard, a traditional unique folk house in the hutongs, has a long history in Chinese architecture. It is called 'Siheyuan' in Chinese, 'Si' means 'Four', which here refers to the four sides: east, west, north and south. 'He' refers to the surrounding, mean...
Daxu Ancient Town Daxu Ancient Town is situated at the east bank of the Li River, 23 km (14.3 miles) southeast of Guilin City. Having a history of more than 1000 years, the town originally formed in the early Northern Song Dynasty (960-1126) and was the leader of four renowned ancient ...
Lugu Lake Lugu Lake lies 200 kilometers (approximately 124 miles) from the center of Lijiang City, on the border between Ninglang County in Yunnan Province and Yanyuan County in Sichuan Province. The lake is like a beautiful pearl shining among the hills of the northwest platea...
Lubuge Hydropower Station The Mini Three-Gorge in Luoping, Yunnan Lubuge small Three Gorges is 55 km east to Luoping County, 14 km long, and 100-500 meters wide. It is one of nature fine carved gallery displaying the magic of nature and risk. Lubuge Small Three Gorges scenic area with a ...
Diecai Hill Situated in the northeast of Guilin by the Li River, Folded Brocade Hill (Diecai Hill) is one of the most popular attractions in Guilin, a place known for its amazing scenery and stone carvings. It gained its name because of the resemblance of its rock formations, pil...
Moslem Street Just as its name implies, Moslem Street is the hub of the Moslem community in Xian City, Shaanxi Province. Located beside the Drum Tower, it is about 500 meters (about 547 yards) long from south to north. This street is paved with dark colored stone with green trees p...
Gadan Songzanlin Monastery Being the largest Tibetan Buddhist monastery in Yunnan Province, Gadan•Songzanlin Monastery, also known as Guihua Monastery, is one of the famous monasteries in the Kang region (referring to the Tibetan areas of Yunnan and Sichuan); it is located at 3 kilometers north...
Baksum Tso Lake Basum Lake is adjacent to national highway 318, making transport to the lake very convenient. Basum Lake has become a popular tourist attraction in Nyingchi. In Tibetan language, Basum means 'green water'. The water is green because it is so pure and clean that the su...
Xinjiang Regional Museum Xinjiang Regional Museum, situated in Xibei Road, Urumqi City, is a large comprehensive museum and center for collecting and studying the cultural relics of Xinjiang. The museum, built in 1953, has an exhibition hall covering about 7,800 square meters. The construc...