Tour Guide Hiring & Car Rental Service in China
Location:Urumqi, Xinjiang
Tags:

Xinjiang Regional Museum

Xinjiang Regional Museum, situated in Xibei Road, Urumqi City, is a large comprehensive museum and center for collecting and studying the cultural relics of Xinjiang.

The museum, built in 1953, has an exhibition hall covering about 7,800 square meters. The construction here is in a Uygur style, and the internal decoration is rich in ethnic features. Over 50,000 items of treasure are displayed here, not only to represent the ethnic life and humanity here, but also to illustrate its revolutionary spirit. With such abundant items, the exhibition is widely known for its comprehensive and informative nature.

Xinjiang Regional Museum is split into 2 sections – one is devoted to archeological treasures from the Silk Road and the other showcases the province’s minority cultures.

The Silk Road exhibits have an array of tools, coins, jade, fabrics, pots and paintings all from the area. The most dramatic and interesting exhibits are the “Mummies of Urumqi” – ancient corpses preserved and found in the desert sands. The corpses include a baby who died around 3,800 years ago, still wrapped in swaddling as well as a couple who died at different periods but were found buried together. The most famous however, is the “Luolan Beauty”, a corpse of a woman believed to have died in her 40s and to be of Indo-European ethnicity. Discovered in 1980 in the riverbed of the Tieban in Loulan city, the corpse is believed to be around 4,000 years old. When found, she was still clutching a small purse and wore leather and fur sandals.

The minority cultures hall introduces tourists to the lifestyle and customs of 12 minority cultures including the Uygur, Kazakh, Russian, Mongol, Kyrgyz, Hui, Tajik, Tatar and Uzbek people. It has life-sized models of a Uygur house and different types of yurts (cloth tents used in the grasslands by the Kazakhs, Kyrgyz and Mongols). There are also household objects, handicrafts, hunting tools, musical instruments, and clothing on display.

Tips:

  1. The museum accept 2000 people a day, five times with 400 people each. Ticket issuing time is 10:00, 11:00, 12:00, 15:00, and 16:00 in summer and 10:30, 11:30, 12:30, 15:00, and 16:00 in winter.
  2. The site is closed on Monday (postponed when meeting a legal national holiday), on the New Year’s Eve, the first and second day of the lunar new year.
  3. Close on the above-mentioned time, the Exhibition Room of the ancient corpses is also not open to the public on every Thursday and Sunday.

.

Admission Fee: Free
Opening Hours: Tuesday to Sunday:
10:00 to 18:00 (Apr. 15 to Oct. 15; last entry at 17:00)
10:30 to 18:00 (Oct. 16 to Apr. 14; last entry at 17:00)

.

You may also like:

Lijiang Old Town Channels cross around all the Town, numerous of small bridges stand upon the rivers like the rainbows and dense of weeping willow swing with the wind are the sign of Lijiang Old Town. With the altitude of 2400 Meters, Lijiang Old Town is titled as National Famous Hist...
Nujiang Grand Canyon The Nujiang (Nu River) Great Canyon is a spectacular 315 kilometre long marvel of nature in northwest Yunnan province in southwest China. The Chinese call it the Grand Canyon of the East: a direct comparison with the more famous Grand Canyon in the USA. There is...
Gantong Temple Gantong Temple, also known as Danshan Temple, is located at the northern bank of the Mocang Brook, and the southern foot of Shengying Peak of Cangshan Mountain. Embraced by undulating hills, green trees and beautiful surroundings, the place has always been a scenic sp...
Golden Temple Located on Mingfeng Hill 7 km (4.3 miles) northeast of Kunming, the Golden Temple was first built in 1602 in the Wanli reign of the Ming Dynasty (1368-1644), and is also known as Taihe Palace (the Hall of Supreme Harmony) and Tongwa Temple (the Bronze Tile Temple). Mi...
Wild Elephant Valley Yexianggu, meaning "Wild Elephant Valley", covers an area of 369 hectares by the Sancha River in Mengyang Town, and is situated 47 kilometers north of the city of Jinghong. The valley, wide open and with hills rolling gently at an altitude ranging between 747 and 1...
Ancient Observatory The Ancient Observatory, situated at the southeast corner of Beijing's Jianguomen Bridge, was initially built circa 1442, during the Ming Dynasty (1368-1644). Its rich history spans more than five hundred years, making it one of the most historically interesting obser...
Pianma Relics of Hump Airline and the legend of Fl... In China today there are a number of memorials and monuments dedicated to the fliers of World War II who kept the Japanese from domination of the skies over China. The most recent, and most memorable is the new memorial in Pianma, Yunnan Province, which features a com...
Waterfall of Dieshuihe and Taijiqiao Bridge The waterfall leaps down over a 46-meter-high precipice at the outlet of the Dayinjiang River, 1.5 kilometres away in the west of the county town, diffusing vapour all around. In sunshine, a rainbow rises from among the steaming vapour. There is an inscription of four...
Xian City Wall When Zhu Yuanzhang, the first Emperor of the Ming Dynasty (1368-1644), captured Huizhou, a hermit named Zhu Sheng admonished him that he should 'built high walls, store abundant food supplies and take time to be an Emperor,' so that he could fortify the city and unify...
Laojun Mountain & Liming Scenic Area Laojun Mountain Scenic Spot stands in the join of three state-level attractions, namely, Yulong Snow Mountain, Combination of Three Rivers and Cangshan and Erhai. It is one of the main parts of the attraction of "Combination of Three Rivers", the World Natural Herita...